What is the E-Visa of Vietnam?

The e-visa is an alternative to a paper-based visa issued by the embassies of Vietnam. Instead of applying for a visa at the embassies of Vietnam, the Immigration Department of Vietnam has now launched an E-VISA program, which enables you to apply for a visa online.

The e-visa of Vietnam is an official document issued online by the Immigration Department of Vietnam that allows a citizen of selected countries to enter and travel in Vietnam for maximum 30 days with single entry.

Eligible countries

Citizens from the following countries are eligible for Vietnam’s E-Visa program:

Ports of entry

E-visa holders can enter and exit Vietnam through any checkpoint in 28 international checkpoints as below:

International airports

  1. Noi Bai international airport in Hanoi city
  2. Tan Son Nhat international airport in Ho Chi Minh city
  3. Cam Ranh international airport in Nha Trang city
  4. Da Nang international airport in Da Nang city
  5. Cat Bi international airport in Hai Phong city
  6. Can Tho international airport in Can Tho city
  7. Phu Quoc international airport in Phu Quoc island
  8. Phu Bai international airport in Hue city

Border land-crossing

  1. Mong Cai border gate in Quang Ninh Province (border with China)
  2. Friendship or Huu Nghi border gate in Lang Son province (border with China)
  3. Lao Cai border gate in Lao Cai province (border with China)
  4. Nam Can border gate in Nghe An province (border with Laos)
  5. Cau Treo border gate in Ha Tinh province (border with Laos)
  6. Cha Lo border gate in Quang Binh province (border with Laos)
  7. Lao Bao border gate in Quang Binh province (border with Laos)
  8. Bo Y border gate in Kon Tum province (border with Cambodia & Laos)
  9. Moc Bai border gate in Tay Ninh province (border with Cambodia)
  10. Xa Mat border gate in Tay Ninh province (border with Cambodia)
  11. Tinh Bien border gate in An Giang province (border with Cambodia)
  12. Song Tien border gate in Tien Giang province (border with Cambodia)
  13. Ha Tien border gate in Kien Giang province (border with Cambodia)

Sea Ports

  1. Hon Gai port in Quang Ninh province
  2. Hai Phong port in Hai Phong provice
  3. Nha Trang port in Nha Trang city (Khanh Hoa provice)
  4. Da Nang port in Da Nang city
  5. Quy Nhon port in Quy Nhon city (Binh Dinh province)
  6. Vung Tau port in Vung Tau city (Ba Ria Vung Tau province)
  7. Ho Chi Minh port in Ho Chi Minh city

Requirements to apply for an e-visa:

  • All e-visa applicants must live outside Vietnam.
  • Hold a valid passport which must be valid at least six (6) months after arrival to Vietnam.
  • And have an email address for communicating & receiving their e-visa.
  • A copy of your passport and a digital photo are required to complete the online form. Learn more
  • We respect your privacy and image rights.
  • We do not give away or sell your photo & passport copy to anyone.
  • We never use your images & passport copy in advertising or any other marketing activity.

What the e-visa of Vietnam looks like

Please see below for a sample of an e-visa of Vietnam.

eVisa Vietnam
A sample of an eVisa Vietnam

Why choose an E-visa?

The e-Visa Vietnam is an official visa authorization from the Immigration Department of Vietnam. It is a simple electronic application that allows travelers to apply directly online, simplifying the procedures to enter Vietnam. Unlike "visa on arrival", the E-visa does not require any application for an “approval letter” and of course, you do not need to stop at the "landing visa" desk to pick up the visa.

The e-visa of Vietnam enables you to enter Vietnam via airports, land ports & seaports. It is good for travel to Vietnam by airplane, by road or by cruise ship.


The Visa Approval letter is the letter approved, signed & red sealed by the Vietnam Immigration Department (Vietnam Government). It allows you board and pick up your visa on arrival at any of the four international airports of Vietnam.

Visa On Arrival (VOA) is one of the several visa types issued by the Vietnamese Immigration Department to foreigners intending to enter the country.

Please note that unlike the visa on arrival of some other countries, in order to get Vietnam’s Visa On Arrival, you must have a visa approval letter from the Immigration Department of Vietnam. This allows you to pick up your visa on arrival at the international airport of Vietnam.

With the visa approval letter, you can get your Vietnam visa at the international airports of Vietnam, such as Noi Bai airport (Ha Noi city), Tan Son Nhat airport (Ho Chi Minh City city), Cam Ranh airport (Nha Trang city) and Da Nang airport (Da Nang city).